Heading North in Hi Ho Silver

Hi Ho Silver and his brave California driver

Sixt Rent-a-Car assigned us a Primera, a European Nissan model; because of its color Gino named it “Hi Ho Silver.” After one day of driving, I renamed it Rin Tin Tin because it was a hunk of tin junk. Not only could we never figure out how anything worked, Mom and Dad were bounced around mercilessly in the back seat.

Bye bye to Dublin and off we went — me in the driver’s seat, on the right side of the car, shifting with my left hand. I took a deep breath and pulled out onto the highway into the left hand lane. This was alien stuff. But I figured if I can master complex Flamenco foot patterns, I could master driving on the “wrong” side of the road. Flamenco proved to be easier.

But I got the tentative hang of it after a few miles and we motored merrily on, Hi Ho Silver pointed north towards Newgrange in the Valley of the Boyne.

Leave a Reply

